BPL T20 Cricket 2012 franchise ownership finalized

The six franchises of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 Cricket 2011 was finalized Tuesday morning through bidding held at the Westin Hotel in the city, reports UNB.

The first ever Bangladesh Premier League T20 Cricket with the participation of six divisional teams will begin on February 10 after the inaugural ceremony on February 9.
SQ Sports purchased the franchise of Chittagong Division team with highest bid of US$ 1.20 million while Orion Group got the Khulna Division team with a bid of US$ 1.10 million.
Other four franchises went to Digital Auto Care (Rajshahi Division – US$ 1.07 million), Walton (Sylhet Division – US$ 1.06 million), Europa Group (Dhaka Division – US$ 1.05 million) and Alif Group (Barisal Division – US$ 1.01 million).
A total of nine companies participated in the bidding process. The BPL governing council is expected to hand over the list of selected local and foreign cricketers Wednesday (Jan 11) and the open auction of players will be held on January 19 in Dhaka.
Meanwhile, one minute’s silence was observed during the bidding process in remembrance of BCB CEO Manzur Ahmed who passed away this (Tuesday) morning.

List of franchise owners

Name of franchise buyer Franchise Bidding Amount
Alif Group Barisal USD 1.01 M
S Q Sports Chittagong USD 1.20 M
Europa Group Dhaka USD 1.05 M
Orion Group Khulna USD 1.10 M
Digital Auto Care Rajshahi USD 1.07 M
Walton Sylhet USD 1.06 M